Summer and July

Summer and July

From the critically acclaimed author of Train I Ride and Echo?s Sister comes a moving story of friendship between two girls looking for some happiness in a world that can be a little cruel. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead, Ali Standish, and Erin Entrada Kelly. Twelve-year-old Juillet is preparing for the worst summer ever. She and her mom are staying in the seaside neighb From the critically acclaimed author of Train I Ride and Echo?s Sister comes a moving story of friendship between...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Summer and July
Author:Paul Mosier
Rating:
Genres:Childrens
ISBN:Summer and July
Edition Language
English
  • Summer and July
  • Summer and July
  • Summer and July
  • Summer and July
  • Summer and July
Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Summer and July, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Paul Mosier Thanks for the question! In this story, both girls have some previous interest in boys, but end up having their first serious crush for each other. It…moreThanks for the question! In this story, both girls have some previous interest in boys, but end up having their first serious crush for each other. It seems to surprise both of them. The story is narrated by Juillet, and I think it is clear to the reader that she is developing feelings for Summer before it is clear to Juillet herself. I didn’t really plan it that way, and strange as it may sound, I don’t think that I, as a novelist, assign the sexual orientation of characters. I think they come to me as they are, and my job is to stay out of their way and let them be who they are, much like raising children. Not every novelist or parent sees it the way I do, but that’s how I see it. I don’t anticipate that either Juillet or summer would feel the need to keep their feelings secret from anyone once they are realized. That may be on the idealistic side versus the real world, but the big five publishers, in regard to Middle Grade novels, are now wishing to present to children a world where of course it is okay to have a crush on someone of the same gender, and they do not wish to dignify opposition to same sex love with space on the page. I think this is a beautiful development. One still sees opposition and conflict in the real world and in YA novels, but I like that children can now be presented a world where what’s strange is anybody objecting. I did find it odd that my publisher, Harper, never characterized the novel as being about a crush when it clearly is. I hope you enjoy it! (less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.30
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover