Dagon

Dagon

Peter Leland, a young minister, inherits his grandparents' farm in the mountains of North Carolina. There, he aims to finish his book on Dagon, the maimed pagan deity of fertility described in the First Book of Samuel. But returning to the place of murky childhood memories strangely effects Peter....

DownloadRead Online
Title:Dagon
Author:Fred Chappell
Rating:
Genres:Horror
ISBN:Dagon
ISBN
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:177 pages pages

Dagon Reviews

  • catherine
    Dec 10, 2008
    a retelling of a cult-classic lovecraft story - which, frankly, i generally dont care much for either the genre or the dork mythos surrounding horror fiction. but this is a modern tale, and rooted in real, deep horror and explores issues of control, abuse and abandonment within pos...
  • Justin Howe
    Feb 24, 2013
    Weird, frustrating, and more than a bit terrifying. ...
  • Bridget
    Aug 23, 2019
    Wish I'd known this was part of the Cthulu mythos on the way in. I was expecting more psychologically tormened preacher slow burn Southern gothic than the torture porn this devolved into. It was good for what it was. ...
  • Kate
    Mar 27, 2010
    ...
  • Dan
    Aug 22, 2013
    4.5 ...
  • Nick
    Mar 23, 2015
    ...
  • Doug
    Jul 10, 2014
    You see phrases like "Mythos story played straight" and "Lovecraftian story cast as Southern Gothic" and both of those seem about right when describing Dagon, a book about a failure of a man who deals, though not really, with his imminent collapse and the weight of history on his shoul...
  • Sam
    Apr 12, 2015
    I was surprised to learn about the existence of a book like this; previously, I had only heard about Fred Chappell in connection with poetry. So, an adaptation of the Cthulu story to the 20th-century southern USA is a bit far removed from all that. In short, I'm glad I picked this book...
  • Gianfranco Mancini
    Dec 03, 2014
    Lasciate perdere questo libro, semmai leggetevi o rileggetevi l'originale racconto lovecraftiano dallo stesso titolo. Per quanto riguarda il secondo romanzo breve contenuto nel volume, l'italiano "Il sentiero dei mille sospiri", "un horror action insuperato nel suo genere" a detta dell...
  • Amanda
    Feb 17, 2013
    The problem with the world of Lovecraftian horror is this. The mythos is great, but a lot of the books/movies set in it are a swing and a miss. Which is sad for me as a reader, because I know that this is an author with the same funky interest as me, so I want it to work. I want it to ...
  • Trevor Donaldson
    Sep 30, 2012
    Unbelievably immersive! I could not put this book down. Chappell's writing of this Mythos tale is outstanding, and a compliment to Lovecraft fan collections. Throw out the notions of blood and guts that modern authors use, and get back to the primordial ooze that the Old Gods are mad...
  • Teresa
    Oct 14, 2012
    Scary... ...
  • Paul Darcy
    Jan 12, 2012
    ...
  • Jennifer Rockwell
    Sep 24, 2012
    A worthy psychological horror story in the tradition of Shirley Jackson's The Haunting of Hill House and H.P. Lovecraft's Dagon. The physical, philosophical, psychological and religious themes are all creepily mingled. While at times the language is cumbersome, the style directly r...
  • Jay
    Jan 27, 2013
    A very odd book. I liked it but I doubt I can explain what happened in the end. ...
  • William
    Apr 26, 2014
    Less a novel with a plot than a phantasmagorical odyssey of a man's degradation and spiritual and physical death. Can't say I always understood what was going on, but the writing was hypnotic. ...
  • Terry Cornell
    Apr 03, 2018
    Written in the style of h.p. Lovecraft, and is more of a novella. A really fast read, but the start is really slow. I like the author's idea of the ending, but thought it was a little disappointing in how it was presented. I thought the middle of the book was the most interesting part,...
  • Addy
    Jan 31, 2014
    Oh my good god! What a tortuous read. So glad it was a short one. Not what i was expecting. I fell into this one, again unknowing that its based on a lovecraft story. It was a well crafted book and was able to keep my attention somewhat, but what Peter endured is beyond me. Why he lost...
  • Dan Le
    Jul 16, 2019
    Setting in rural North Carolina, a minister moved back to his ancestral farm to write but ended up murdering his wife as he became possessed by Mina, the daughter of his land squatters. Under Mina's spell, the young priest was robbed and tortured by the cult members. Although violent a...
  • Dougal R.
    Mar 07, 2013
    Keep the light on....never date a girl named Mina. ...
  • Alessandro
    Feb 24, 2018
    Mai una rivisitazione del mito di Cthulhu č stata pių controversa e innovativa di questa. Fred Chappell mette coraggiosamente da parte mostri ed "effetti speciali" per puntare unicamente sulla psicologia del protagonista Peter Leland, sul suo decadimento fisico e mentale e sulle atro...
  • Andrew
    Oct 21, 2013
    This book really put a chill in my spine, and still don't exactly understand why. I hadn't thought of Dagon in quite some time-I read it while still in high school and actually have letter from Frad Chappell wondering why I even bothered with it (my mom is a writer and is friends with ...
  • Cristian
    Dec 14, 2015
    Purtroppo un iniziale attrazione per questa lettura č stata immediatamente sostituita da una grande delusione, ma ancor pių stupefacente, da una completa incomprensione del finale e di quasi tutto il romanzo che riusciva a piacermi solo in brevi singoli passi. Nulla di pių. Odiosa i...
  • And_it_spoke
    Feb 11, 2015
    A chilling marriage of Lovecraftian horror and Southern Gothic. Fred Chappell goes into the subtle, metaphysical horror of Lovecraft instead of breaking it down into a variation of good versus evil. The result is an unnerving, psychological/spiritual breakdown that we get a front-row s...
  • The Flying Biscuit
    Apr 01, 2014
    ...
  • James Bowman
    Sep 04, 2015
    The first half of this book is great, becoming more and more atmospheric, moody, and tense as the main character (a more realistic version of the typical Lovecraft protagonist) investigates the mystery of his home. However, after that, the book radically shifts gears and becomes a jour...
  • J. Collbran
    Sep 29, 2015
    Dagon (1968) by Fred Chappell is a short novel, mixing elements of the southern gothic, with the mythos of H.P. Lovecraft. The Lovecraftian elements are minor, at least until the conclusion, and most of the novel moves at a slow pace with unlikable characters doing unspeakable things t...
  • Eileen
    May 01, 2016
    Fantastic book. Just FYI: this has nothing to do with Innsmouth, other than Mina's appearance and the name Dagon. ...
  • Chris Nosseck
    Jul 07, 2019
    ...
  • Luca
    Sep 02, 2017
    ...