The Beckoning Shadow

The Beckoning Shadow

Vesper Montgomery can summon your worst fear and turn it into a reality?but she?s learned the hard way that it?s an addicting and dangerous power. One wrong move and you could hurt someone you love. But when she earns a spot in the Tournament of the Unraveling, where competitors battle it out for a chance to rewrite the past, Vesper finally has a shot to reverse the mistake Vesper Montgomery can summon your worst fear and turn it into a reality?but she?s learned the hard way that...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Beckoning Shadow
Author:Katharyn Blair
Rating:
Genres:Fantasy
ISBN:B07DTCXKPG
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Kindle Edition
Number of Pages:480 pages pages

The Beckoning Shadow Reviews

  • Shelley
    Jun 14, 2019
    *Source* Publisher *Genre* Young Adult, Contemporary, Fantasy *Rating* 3.5-4 *Thoughts* The Beckoning Shadow is Katharyn Blair's debut novel. And, even though Goodreads claims this is part of a series, it's not. With the story tied up neatly in one book, readers with series fat...
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    Aug 29, 2018
    I want this book right now ...
  • InBooksILive Reviews
    Jan 30, 2019
    ((I was given this ARC from Edelweiss in exchange for my honest review)) Oh I really loved this one! The world building was done so perfectly. I was pulled into this world immediately and fully. The characters were all incredible, all had their own personalities, their own proble...
  • ♠️ TABI ♠️
    Jul 06, 2019
    this cover is a work of art ...
  • Christie«SHBBblogger»
    Oct 30, 2018
    Title: The Beckoning Shadow Series: The Beckoning Shadow #1 Author: Katharyn Blair Release date: July 2, 2019 Cliffhanger: No Genre:YA, fantasy After all the warnings, all the lessons, all the looks over their shoulders?and the thing they should have feared the most was ne...
  • Janet Macreery
    Feb 12, 2019
    I won an ARC of this book in a Twitter contest. Kathryn Blair creates a world of Oddballs who have bound together to form a community yet still long to be accepted in the greater world. Former cheerleader turned misfit Vesper literally fights for redemption in a world she feels she ...
  • Dani - Perspective of a Writer
    Jun 15, 2019
    Check out more reviews @ Perspective of a Writer... The Buzz Tournament of the Unraveling! Supernatural Fight Club! Now take a look at that cover... look close... You see it right?! The wrapped fist, the broken nose. Yeah! The premise really intrigued me! And the cover is someh...
  • Amy
    Dec 15, 2018
    Many thanks to EdelweissPlus and the publisher for providing me with an eARC of this title for review. All opinions are my own. You guys, this one was good. While I appreciated the fact that this is a fantasy that is a stand-alone (instead of the dreaded trilogy or random duology or...
  • Diana
    Oct 31, 2018
    I have to say that I enjoyed aspects of the book more than the book itself. What I mean? I mean that while the plot maybe nothing completly new or 100% original, as it reminds me a lot of XMen with magic powers, it does have a great character development in which I put most of my atten...
  • Kendall {Book Crazy}
    Aug 08, 2019
    I first noticed this book when the publisher sent me the newsletter for review requests! I instantly requested a copy and was so happy when it came in the post! This book sounded exactly like my kind of read and the synopsis had me intrigued, so I wanted to read it as soon as possible!...
  • Christy
    Jul 14, 2019
    A unique and interesting urban fantasy (we have so few in YA) that is great for fans of Marie Lu?s The Young Elites - just add MMA! Loved seeing young women take down the patriarchy one vulnerable punch at a time. ...
  • Sarah Ansari
    Apr 26, 2019
    ?I am the master of my fate, I am the captain of my soul.? Vesper Montgomery has run away from her home and her family, because she is a monster, or more specifically, an oddity - a human with magic. Having caused enough damage to the people she?s loved her entire life, sh...
  • Melissa
    Jun 16, 2019
    I still have goosebumps. Guys, the ending of this book is dynamite!! Can't wait to know what Katharyn has in store for book 2!!! I jumped so fast into the story, I felt everything... it's been a long time since I cried while reading a book. The characters are vibrant, they are so full ...
  • Anna Bright
    Jun 14, 2019
    so so good. i literally got chills during the "these are the stakes!!!!" scene. ...
  • Beth  Rose
    Nov 09, 2018
    I'll write a full public review closer to the release date but let me just say this blew me away. I've never read anything quite like it before and I can't wait for everyone else to read it!! Edit 26.05.19: Full Review Pre-Order it here! You've done worse. You'll do wors...
  • Adah Udechukwu
    Jul 22, 2019
    I expected more from The Beckoning Shadow. Hopefully book 2 will be better. ...
  • Rebecca Wash
    Jul 09, 2019
    I really liked this book. Vesper is a lonely character who has run away due to something she feels guilty about. I enjoyed reading about all the different powers of different characters. There were two twists that I did not see coming. One of my favorite aspects of the book is how it t...
  • Ellen Gail
    Nov 04, 2018
    If this cover was a human being, I would totally make out with it. Hopefully it's pretty on the inside too. ...
  • Noura Khalid (theperksofbeingnoura)
    Nov 07, 2018
    Thank you Edelweiss and Katherine Tegen Books for sending a review copy in exchange for an honest review "I am the master of my fate, I am the captain of my soul." Oh, how grateful I am to have been sent an ARC of this absolutely marvelous book. Katharyn Blair created ...
  • Nia •ShadesOfPaper•
    Jul 07, 2019
    You can find this review on my blog Shades of Paper. ?That?s a nice way to start a story, right? It situates me exactly where I want to be ? the person this happened to. The person who suffers. The person who fears.? I cannot even express how excited I was to pick up ...
  • Namera [The Literary Invertebrate]
    Nov 08, 2018
    I liked the writing, and the heroine, but there were too many tropes I disliked for me to truly enjoy this book. For one - the hero is completely hung up on his dead girlfriend. This is a COMPLETE NO-NO for me in any romance whatsoever. This discovery utterly ruined any interest I ...
  • Dania
    Jul 01, 2019
    This book took me by surprise. I didn?t know what to expect when I picked it up, but once I did, I could not put it down. One of my favorite years of 2019. ...
  • Carrie
    Jan 17, 2019
    The Beckoning Shadow by Katharyn Blair is a young adult fantasy with of course a bit of romance added to the mix. The ideas and world building in this one weren?t overly new or original but it was still a fun story to read. Vesper Montgomery had left her home and the family she lo...
  • Gemma
    Jul 14, 2019
    I was gifted a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for review. I was really drawn in by the synopsis, a fantasy story set in a contemporary setting is one I haven't read in a while and I was keen to dive in. Unfortunately, although I thought the plot was interesting,I thin...
  • Amanda Jaynes
    May 20, 2019
    This novel has everything- a setting so vivid that you feel like you?re there, page turning plot, and refreshingly funny dialogue. The main character is so rich and layered and the perfect ?anti-hero?. The love story is sweet without being syrupy or taking center stage. The twist...
  • Meredith
    Jul 01, 2019
    Before I tell you how I found The Beckoning Shadow, let me first say that I did NOT realise this was not a standalone? It is only a duology, but I wanted to let you all know before you pick it up. Especially because book 2 probably isn?t out until at least next year. I definitely t...
  • Ashley
    Aug 09, 2019
    4.5/5 I thought it was a unique concept to combine magical abilities with MMA fighting. It was something I haven't read before. Reading the fight scenes turned out to be more entertaining than I initially thought it would be. It was also entertaining to read about the training scene...
  • Umairah | Sereadipity
    Jul 07, 2019
    The Beckoning Shadow was a novel about the importance of accepting your past instead of running away from it and it was basically what would happen if the X-men were younger and liked cage fighting for fun. 3.5 stars Plot: 3/5 Characters: 4/5 Writing: 4/5 Oddities were humans...
  • Troy_Reads
    Jun 25, 2019
    I just won the Goodreads giveaway for this book! This is one of the books that I actually wanted to win, too! So excited to read this! ...
  • rachelwrites007
    Apr 13, 2018
    Ah this book was so good. I read an early draft and it's perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver, Saba Tahir, Victoria Schwab, and The Magicians. The worldbuilding is just so new and different. Looking forward to reading the finished copy in 2019!! ...