Flamingo Boy

Flamingo Boy

A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION This is a landmark new novel form the nation's favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents' farm among the salt flats, and the flam A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL an...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Flamingo Boy
Author:Michael Morpurgo
Rating:
Genres:Historical
ISBN:0008134642
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Paperback
Number of Pages:352 pages pages

Flamingo Boy Reviews

  • Nancy
    Mar 07, 2018
    Vintage Morpugo! Loved every chapter, every character, and after all the trials and tribulations of wartime France, a happy ending. A splendid binge-read. OK, I'm somewhat older than the "9-plus" age groups it is intended for, but I'll read anything Morpugo writes. His "Private Peacefu...
  • Paula Sealey
    Feb 18, 2018
    It seems that every Michael Morpurgo book I read has the ability to turn me into a blubbering wreck at some point in the story. 'Flamingo Boy' was no exception and the tears were bouncing off my cheeks at the end! I know his books are targeted at a young audience, but honestly, the tal...
  • Linda
    Apr 13, 2018
    Another great story from a master story teller. Morpurgo always seems to find a new twist and point of view on war story ...
  • Nicola
    Apr 08, 2018
    What an amazing and beautiful book. Adore ...
  • Pauline
    Feb 13, 2018
    Morpurgo is a seriously gifted writer and this story, of a story within a story, will not disappoint his fan base. The novel begins with the story of Vincent, a young man in the 1980s who is inspired by a painting of the Camargue area in the South of France by Vincent Van Gogh, to head...
  • Desna
    May 12, 2018
    Love the way Michael Morpurgo writes. Love how we are in the present and the suddenly back in time meeting characters and sharing their lives and experiences. The subject of autism is dealth with very well. ...
  • Rachel
    May 01, 2018
    I received this novel from Net Galley and Harper Collins UK in return for an honest review. This is the story of an 18 year old boy called Vincent, who travels to Southern France in the footsteps of his namesake Vincent van Gogh to visit the site where Van Gogh painted one of his favo...
  • Aruna Kumar Gadepalli
    Apr 19, 2018
    I wonder at times with war in the background (theme) how could one write so many stories. Each story different and interesting. I wait for his books. Waiting always gives its results. This book is no exception. Easy, quick read about friendship, war and enemy. The relationship between ...
  • Anita
    Feb 06, 2018
    Amazing story, amazing book. ...
  • Paul
    May 12, 2018
    Enjoy reading Michael?s books because of the way he mixes the War with animals. Was looking forward to reading Flamingo Boy, unfortunately I did not finish as I thought it didn?t really get going. Can do better. ...
  • Aditi
    Apr 13, 2018
    ?Close friends are truly life's treasures. Sometimes they know us better than we know ourselves. With gentle honesty, they are there to guide and support us, to share our laughter and our tears. Their presence reminds us that we are never really alone.? ----Vincent van Gogh ...
  • Claire Bennett
    Mar 28, 2018
    Great story. Could not wait to pick it up & read some more. Definitely recommend to read. ...
  • Julia Wilson
    Mar 08, 2018
    Flamingo Boy by Michael Morpurgo is a delightful historical children's novel that can be enjoyed by all ages. I am a granny and really enjoyed it. Michael Morpurgo weaves a wonderful tale beginning in 1982, he then transports the reader back to the occupied south of France during Worl...
  • Ken
    Mar 18, 2018
    The story starts with young Vincent explaining why he wanted to travel to the South of France, on he's journey he is taken ill and elderly pair Kezia and Renzo who help nurse him back to full health. Each night Kezia recounts a tale of what life was like growing up during the Second...
  • Karyn
    Mar 25, 2018
    Loved everything about this story - the relationship/friendship between Lorenzo & Kezia was beautiful! ...
  • James
    Mar 31, 2018
    ?Flamingo Boy? (2018) is the latest novel from Michael Morpurgo and to some extent appears ostensibly to be exploring similar themes and territory as well as being set against a similar backdrop to many of his previous novels ? a fairly typical WWII setting here along with Morpur...
  • Isabelle
    May 24, 2018
    Another fantastic book by Michael Morpurgo. The more I read his books the more I want to read. Set in this beautiful wild and unique part of France called Camargue, towards the end of WWII. We see Lorenzo, Flamingo boy who is obviously autistic, and Kezia, daughter of a roma family ...
  • Jim Snowden
    Mar 25, 2018
    ...
  • james rox
    Mar 16, 2018
    ...
  • Lucy Fitzgerald
    Apr 21, 2018
    A lovely story of adventure, discovery and friendship. Great for 8-12 year olds. ...
  • Shizuku
    Mar 27, 2018
    ...
  • Rebecca
    Mar 25, 2018
    This was the first new Michael Morpurgo book which I've read in years and it didn't disappoint. I loved the book's setting of the Camargue, and the story's bursting at the seams with atmosphere - from the ever-present flamingos, horses and bulls to the relentless mistral, to the cha...
  • Vee ♔Under Mountain Books♔
    Mar 14, 2018
    Michael Morpurgo truly is an incredible writer, he can find stories in places in history that have been done a thousand times and make them feel completely new and different. When I saw that he had a book releasing this year I hit request immediately, sure that a story about a young au...
  • Tanya Allsopp
    Mar 28, 2018
    ...
  • Laura
    Mar 04, 2018
    Set against the backdrop of WWII, Michael Morpurgo weaves a tale of trust, commitment, acceptance and love. A truly lovely story that warms the heart of all ages. Beginning in 1982, 18 year-old Vincent sets off to the south of France to visit the beach Van Gough painted in the pictu...
  • Jackie Savage
    May 14, 2018
    Although I loved Warhorse, I found Flamingo Boy a little tame, but as I know the Carmargue well I was on familiar territory. Eventually I appreciated the methodology of telling the story through the central characters memories to the interloper. I would recommend it, but it was not one...
  • Ivan
    Mar 31, 2018
    It was an amazing book i loved it so much i'd definitely recommend it to everyone!!!!!!!!!! ...
  • Lara
    Apr 05, 2018
    This book is amazing set in world war 2 in France it follows the life of a Roma girl and an autistic boy this book is amazing and will follow you for life ...
  • BookWolf
    May 05, 2018
    REVIEW A good book for younger kids about acceptance and hope. CONTENT RATING 10+ SEX & NUDITY None VIOLENCE & GORE Very Mild ? An egret is shot, a flamingo is shot and her wing is broken but she survives PROFANITY & INSULTS Mild ? Gyppos, dirty beggars...
  • 15VanGeesbergenH
    Apr 19, 2018
    I couldn't put this book down and I highly recommend this. Their struggles seemed to come to life through Micheal morpurgos writing. I love Micheal morpurgo books and this one definitely delivered ...