Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower

Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower

An Emma Watson "Our Shared Shelf" Selection for November/December 2018 ? NAMED A BEST BOOK OF 2018 BY: The New York Public Library ? Bustle ? The Root ? NPR ? Fast Company ("10 Best Books for Battling Your Sexist Workplace") Rebecca Solnit, The New Republic: "Funny, wrenching, pithy, and pointed." Roxane Gay: "I encourage you to check out Eloquent Rage out now." Joy Reid, C An Emma Watson "Our Shared Shelf" Selection for November/December 2018 ? NAMED A BEST BOOK OF 201...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower
Author:Brittney Cooper
Rating:
Genres:Nonfiction
ISBN:Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower
ISBN
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:288 pages pages

Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower Reviews

  • Katharine
    Nov 14, 2018
    This book opened my eyes, challenged my thinking, made me uncomfortable (in the most necessary of ways). READ IT. Especially if you're a white woman. ...
  • Joshunda Sanders
    Oct 05, 2018
    What America needs, we know, is not always what America is willing to listen to. But Black women are America, too, even if some are deeply invested in having us forget that. And not just Black women who are mired in struggle, petty jealousies or self-hatred because they can't see thems...
  • Roxane
    Mar 23, 2018
    An excellent essay collection that explicitly centers black women and black women's feminism. Lots of provocative, intelligent thinking and engagement with blackness, popular culture, black womanhood, respectability politics, and the uses of, as the title suggests, eloquent rage. I rea...
  • Mara
    May 19, 2019
    ?This is a book by a grown-ass woman written for other grown-ass women. This is a book for women who expect to be taken seriously and for men who take grown women seriously. This is a book for women who know shit is fucked up.? And I am here for it! Brittney Cooper (AKA ...
  • Thomas
    May 28, 2018
    4.5 stars A powerful and moving essay collection that will appeal to fans of Roxane Gay and Audre Lorde. Brittney Cooper writes about an array of cultural, personal, and political topics from the perspective of a black feminist. She addresses respectability politics and rage, friend...
  • Traci at The Stacks
    Oct 18, 2018
    Smart AF. Eloquent is an understatement. Cooper is a force for good and my god she is exciting too. Intersectional and powerful. Centering black womaness and feminism. Check this book out. ...
  • Sam toer
    Feb 28, 2019
    A very powerful, astute, raw and brutally honest memoir which professor Brittney Cooper describes in her introduction as a "book for women who expect to be taken seriously and for men who take grown women seriously.This is a book for women who know shit is fucked up. These women want t...
  • Nenia ☠️ Khaleesi of Bodice Rippers, Protector of Out of Print Gems, Mother of Smut, and Actual Garbage Can ☠️ Campbell
    Apr 15, 2018
    Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || Pinterest This is one of those books where it feels wrong to say that I "enjoyed" the book because it is a book about inequality and oppression, and anger and pain, and I didn't exactly have a grand old time reading it. On the other...
  • Jenna
    Mar 09, 2019
    ?Black feminism is not a reactionary project. It is not about the damage that white girls do. Not solely or primarily. Black feminism is about the world Black women and girls can build, if all the haters would raise up and let us get to work.? ?White privilege works by making ...
  • Rose
    Sep 16, 2018
    I'm surprised that I haven't heard much about Brittney Cooper's "Eloquent Rage" save for the recommended reference at my local library, but it was a read that I definitely found worthwhile in its overarching narrative. I was fortunate to pick up the audiobook which was wonderfully narr...
  • Ifeyinwa
    May 10, 2018
    Y'all need to run and get yourself a copy of this book because Dr. Brittney motherfucking Cooper did that! Damn this book is fantastic! ...
  • Alana Benjamin
    Dec 07, 2018
    ?Not solely or primarily. Black feminism is about the world Black women and girls can build, if all the haters would raise up and let us get to work. When I talk about owning eloquent rage as your superpower, it comes with the clear caveat that not everyone is worth your time and y...
  • BookOfCinz
    May 22, 2018
    What an amazing piece of work. I am floored at how relatable and timely this book is. What I absolutely loved about this book is that black women remained the focal point of the book the entire time. Most of the issues Dr. Cooper discusses you see in the media and it is great and enrag...
  • Jamise // Spines & Vines
    May 23, 2018
    This book is everything, absolutely exhilarating! Brittney Cooper?s passion for black women and girls radiates throughout this book. It?s hard not to have your blood pressure go up a notch and your heart race a little faster while reading this book. I screamed out loud, laughed, sa...
  • Gabriella
    Jan 03, 2018
    I am not sure that I?ve related this much to a collection of essays in a very long time. Brittney Cooper?s Eloquent Rage is a indictment of neoliberal society and its myths of exceptionalism, but also a ?homegirl hem-up? for those of us struggling to correct both systemic oppre...
  • Gabrielle
    Mar 03, 2018
    Confession: Just when I thought that I could not love Brittney Cooper more, she published Eloquent Rage. It took me longer than normal to read this book because it was so raw, so personal, and so full of rage. Dr. Cooper's writing is so smooth - she goes in and out of the towers of aca...
  • Janani
    Mar 27, 2018
    Phew. A phenomenal collection of essays that focuses on womanhood in the spheres of race, pop culture, respectability politics, the patriarchy, and more. What I super appreciated about this discussion of feminism is its consistent inclusion of trans women, and explicitly stating genera...
  • Darkowaa
    Apr 28, 2018
    Dr. Brittney Cooper is my shero. That is all. !!! https://africanbookaddict.com/2018/08... ...
  • Eli
    Dec 01, 2018
    Read for Emma Waton's Bookclub/Our Shared Shelf. Loved this book so much. Brittney Cooper has a really comfortable diction and that made most of this book easy enough to read through. The only unavoidable problem I had with this was how long it took me to read it. I suffered a few b...
  • Britta Böhler
    Feb 25, 2019
    I've learned so much! ...
  • Renée | Book Girl Magic
    May 19, 2018
    This books was EVERYTHING!! Do you hear me? Brittney Cooper was raw, comedic, on point and so relatable. She's just brilliant. There's no other way for me to describe it. I think everything that I've ever thought or wanted to say as it pertains to African Americans and especially wome...
  • Never Without a Book™
    May 08, 2018
    Dr. Brittney Cooper?s Eloquent Rage is brutally honest and is written with humor and grace. Cooper presents multiple ways race, gender, and class touch in the oppression of Black Women, and how we subsequently navigate in the world. She provides solid research on why we all should ow...
  • Emily
    Oct 05, 2017
    2/20--this is now out! GO GET IT NOW!! I received an advanced copy of this through NetGalley. Views are my own. This is essential reading. This was a powerful, heartbreaking, hilarious, important read. I can't recommend it enough. I loved that while Cooper discusses topics ...
  • rsvreads
    Nov 10, 2018
    This is required reading. As a white intellectual southerner who used education as the throughway to escape both poverty and a family whose women held it together and whose men were alcoholics, cheaters, and/or totally absent I felt a LOT of familiarity and kinship in this book. That s...
  • Mara
    Sep 24, 2018
    An all-time fav in the genre- it is the intersectional memoir essay collection I've been waiting for and I absolutely loved it. I loved how she presented her arguments, I loved her use of personal details to paint a larger picture, and I loved her use of pop culture. This is my jam for...
  • LeeTravelGoddess
    Apr 01, 2018
    OH MY!!! Dr. Cooper EMPTIED THE CLIP IN THIS BRILLIANT PIECE OF LITERATURE!!! This is what we young women need today! There is rage but as the title professes it is eloquent. From beginning to end, top to bottom she leaves no stone unturned and goes about it both methodically and warml...
  • Taryn
    Nov 09, 2018
    This was an excellent collection of essays that centred black women & black women?s feminism. Provocative & thought-provoking, this is a must read for anyone who considers themselves a feminist. ...
  • Emily
    Mar 28, 2018
    This book left me both praising and being slightly offended by its narrative. Withhold your judgement, however: this ?offensiveness? is precisely why the book was so good. I was forced to remove my mask and step into the teachings and ponderings of the author, a Black woman. I conf...
  • Luna Peace
    May 30, 2018
    Brittney is my girl and in this book she holds no punches. This is a necessary read for all women who see themselves as feminist. In her words "That is something that feminism needs to be clear on - that it isn't feminism if all women's concerns, particularly the most marginalized wome...
  • Imani406
    Feb 26, 2018
    My new Bible. Finally a book that puts definition or structure to the internal rage I?ve been feeling as a black women. Thank you Brittney for writing this. ...