A Dash of Trouble

A Dash of Trouble

Leonora Logrońo?s family owns the most beloved bakery in Rose Hill, Texas, spending their days conjuring delicious cookies and cakes for any occasion. And no occasion is more important than the annual Dia de los Muertos festival. Leo hopes that this might be the year that she gets to help prepare for the big celebration?but, once again, she is told she?s too young. Sneaking Leonora Logrońo?s family owns the most beloved bakery in Rose Hill, Texas, spending their days conjuring de...

DownloadRead Online
Title:A Dash of Trouble
Author:Anna Meriano
Rating:
Genres:Childrens
ISBN:Love Sugar Magic #1
  • A Dash of Trouble (Love Sugar Magic, #1)
  • A Dash of Trouble (Love Sugar Magic #1)
  • Love Sugar Magic: A Dash of Trouble
  • Love Sugar Magic: A Dash of Trouble
  • Love Sugar Magic: A Dash of Trouble: A Dash of Trouble
Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Dash of Trouble, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Amy-Jo Conant Perfect for grades 4 and 5. One of the characters has a small crush on a boy which results in some interesting magical spells. It's all very innocent.…morePerfect for grades 4 and 5. One of the characters has a small crush on a boy which results in some interesting magical spells. It's all very innocent. All in all a very clean book. My review mentions that it mentions seances to summon spirits for Dia de Muertos. It's all very benign though. They summon their Abuela to help with some magic gone wrong. (less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.13
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:320 pages pages

A Dash of Trouble Reviews

  • Donalyn
    Feb 17, 2018
    An adorable and exciting debut. I can?t wait to get this one into the hands of kids. ...
  • Heather
    Feb 27, 2018
    I really need to stop reading books that make me hungry... ...
  • Mojan
    May 15, 2018
    It was all sweetness! :) ...
  • Yamile MĂ©ndez
    Sep 10, 2018
    what an utterly delightful book! beautiful family and friendship dynamics. A book where I'd love to live in. I absolutely loved it and can't wait for the next one! ...
  • Hoover Public Library Kids and Teens
    Apr 24, 2018
    When Leo learns the women in her family are brujas . . . and that her family bakery is also a magical bakery . . . well, how can she NOT try to be a bit magical herself?! ...
  • Kaye
    Apr 15, 2017
    Wonderful, warm and utterly brimming over with magic! This is a middle grade that is best served with your favorite sweet treat and a mug of hot chocolate, on a day when you can really sink into your sofa cushions and savor it. ...
  • Akoss
    Jun 02, 2018
    Leo's antics will horrify you and make you laugh with delight at the same time. Her determination to prove herself worthy of her family members' trust is something a lot of kids and adults can relate to. I absolutely love her relationships with each of her sisters. In fact all the cha...
  • Jessica Woodbury
    Apr 24, 2019
    This was a winner for everyone. The kids have taken an interest in baking (we watch Great British Baking Show together) and this book about a family of baking brujas was a great way to scratch that itch. It wasn't uncommon for them to ask to bake something from the book after we read a...
  • Xueting
    Feb 05, 2019
    A cute and fun story about a family of brujas (witches)! The youngest daughter discovers the family secret and sneaks around trying to cast a few spells, with some unexpected but amusing results. ...
  • Morgan (The Bookish Beagle)
    Feb 11, 2018
    I loved absolutely every bit. Review to come. ...
  • Zoraida
    Aug 18, 2017
    LOVE LOVE LOVE. A smart, clever debut. Perfect for fans of Wizards of Waverly Place and The Book of Life. ...
  • Paula Stokes
    May 25, 2016
    I was so lucky to read an early draft of this and THIS BOOK IS ADORABLE! It's funny and heartfelt and interesting and diverse and it taught me cool stuff without seeming like it was trying too hard. I almost never read MG, but I cannot wait to add this book to my collection. All th...
  • Marianne (Boricuan Bookworms)
    Aug 30, 2017
    Loved loved loved. A family of brujas who channel their magic through baking, and the youngest member of the family learning how to deal with her newfound powers. So many hilarious moments, and a big focus on family and friendship. Some of the funny moments reminded me of one o...
  • Jenna (Falling Letters)
    Jan 07, 2019
    Review originally published 28 July 2019 at Falling Letters. The Love Sugar Magic books exemplify some of my favourite elements of middle grade fiction: the fun combination of magic and baking, strong family relationships (with well-defined personalities for all seven family members...
  • Fafa's Book Corner
    Jan 08, 2019
    Review posted on Fafa's Book Corner! Beware spoilers ahead! Trigger warning: Death mentioned, mention of cancer, bullying, physical violence, and abuse of magic powers. A Dash of Trouble was read for the theme January Jam Jar. For a book group called Devour Your TBR on GR. ...
  • Sylwia (Wish Fulfillment)
    Apr 19, 2018
    Why You Might Bump This Up On Your TBR: The Mexican representation seemed well done to me (but I'm not Mexican). I liked how the author used Spanish words without translating them. I appreciated the hardcore girl power in terms of sisterhood and female friendship. The magic system and...
  • Garren
    Feb 02, 2018
    One of those perfect middle grade books about family and friends...and baking magic! It's about family legacy and honoring the dead. It's about Latina American identity and friendship. The cover illustration and the baking objects drawn at the start of every chapter are so wonderful. ...
  • Sarena Nanua
    Dec 14, 2017
    A delicious and fun read about family and friendship! 5* ...
  • Stacie (Shy Book Nerd)
    Mar 21, 2019
    This book was adorable! My daughter and I really enjoyed it, and I LOVED that it represented our culture. It reminded me so much of how I grew up and how I interact with my sisters. Plus I loved the bit of magic that was thrown into the story. I highly recommend for anyone to read this...
  • Janani
    Jan 05, 2018
    Absolutely loved this middle grade novel about Leo, a young Bruja who is navigating her newfound powers and family secrets. The dynamics of her large, loving, and hilarious family were an absolute delight to read, and I especially adored Leo's relationships with her sisters. I just wan...
  • Jinckee
    Mar 03, 2019
    4,5 stars! ...
  • Arlene
    Apr 28, 2018
    This was a very cute book. A young girl of 11 finds out that her mother and sisters can do magic and that she too holds the power to do magic through cooking (think Like Water for Chocolate) but she is told that she must wait till she is 15 years old. But after her best friend has a ve...
  • Kamilla Benko
    Dec 08, 2017
    I fell in love from the very first page! If you're at all a fan of magical secrets, sisters, friends, and flying cookies, you're in for a treat. Anna Meriano's debut is full of heart and hilarity (I laughed out loud multiple times) and contains one of the best magical systems I've ever...
  • Ashley Elliott
    Jan 07, 2018
    I love a good middle grade and this one was a delight. Leo and her family are brujas who own a bakery and bake magic into sweets. She?s eleven and wants to do all that her sisters do, there?s a good bit of snooping and sneaking around and accidental spells. All of it was fun and sw...
  • andrea caro
    Jan 10, 2018
    Love, love, LOVED this. I first read this because brujeria has always interested me and as a big fan of Sarah Addison Allen's Waverly series, I loved the idea of magic + food. But this series is about so much more than that. It's about growing up and family and love. I am obse...
  • Roxanne (The Novel Sanctuary)
    Feb 22, 2018
    Loved this so much! It was so sweet and I love the family, the magic, the culture, all of it! Definitely recommend. ...
  • Samm | Sassenach the Book Wizard
    Apr 08, 2018
    Such a cute book! ...
  • Emily
    Nov 26, 2018
    This was very cute and very sweet, but ultimately the narrative voice was just too young for me. I don't mind middle grade that skews older, but I'm finding that middle grade that skews younger just doesn't work for me. THAT SAID this is 1000000% a book that I would recommend to you...
  • Elke
    Jan 25, 2018
    This was super adorable! A sweet, heartfelt middle-grade story that made me want to eat so many cookies! I loved reading about this family of Brujas and their magical baking. It was so nice to have a book with a large, happy, funny, strange, loving family and I adored Leo's relationshi...
  • theresa 🌸🥑
    Apr 21, 2018
    my first buddy read! this was as cute as i hoped it would be.?now i crave cookies though *runs to the bakery* ? ...