Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales

Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales

Once upon a time, a girl skipped into the forest and became a zombie. Wait, no, that's not how this story is supposed to go. Let's try again. Once upon a time, a boy did a horrible job as a sheep-sitter and burned his tongue on stolen pie. No, children in these stories are always good and virtuous. From the top. Once upon a time, a king and queen tried to find a princess for t Once upon a time, a girl skipped into the forest and became a zombie. Wait, no, that's not how this st...

DownloadRead Online
Title:Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales
Author:Kiersten White
Rating:
Genres:Childrens
Edition Language:English
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:224 pages pages

Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales Reviews

  • Lisa
    Feb 16, 2019
    I adore Kiersten White and fairy tales, so when I came upon this book, I was so thrilled!!! How could I not love it??? I was so let down. The book covers a number of real fairy tales with each being changed a bit in odd and weird ways. It felt all over the place to me, leaving me wonde...
  • Naomi Ruth
    Dec 01, 2017
    When the description tells you this will be fairytales like you've never seen them before I think it is fair to be skeptical HOWEVER. Kiersten White delivers and I can agree with the statement that I have not seen these fairytales like this before. I adore books where the narrator is o...
  • Bunny
    Apr 14, 2019
    Read for Book Roast's OWL's Magical Readathon 2019. Subject: Ancient Runes - Read a retelling. What are little boys made of? Snips and snails and puppy dog tails, That's what little boys are made of! What are little girls made of? Brains and wails and people entrails, That'...
  • Ami
    Oct 03, 2017
    Three and a half stars for such a lovely snarky play on words and a twisting of familiar tales. This could have turned so much darker, and while I wish it had, it was still well done, even with the occasional silly dialogue which was easily forgiven. My children love this so much that ...
  • Chelsea Campbell
    Jan 20, 2019
    I LOVED this book! So funny and so well written! ...
  • Sally
    Feb 03, 2018
    A funny remix where one story thread includes Cinderella, Jack and Jill, The Princess and the Pea, Snow White, Rapunzel, little Red Riding Hood and the important evil stepmother. The stepmother in this book is quite the busy stepmother. Oh, and there are werewolves and vampires. These ...
  • Billie
    May 23, 2017
    There's a lot of clever jokes about homonyms (rein, reign, rain; hair and Herr; and, of course, pee and pea) and some unexpected zombears, but the concept itself?re-told and interwoven fairy tales and nursery rhymes with a narrator who inserts herself into the tale? is about as fre...
  • Devann
    Mar 04, 2019
    Little girls go into the woods because the woods are wild places, and little girls are told they must never be wild. [...] And many little girls know, deep in their darkest heart space where no one else can ever see, something no one else does: They are actually monsters. actual rat...
  • Liliana
    Sep 14, 2017
    Reviewed on Lili Lost in a Book Vampires and Zombies and Stepmothers, Oh my! I can always count on Kiersten White for a fun, humorous read, and this was no exception! While yes it is an MG novel, I do like to read them every once in awhile, and this one was amazing! I tho...
  • Sean
    Dec 21, 2017
    This is a fun and hilarious book. I love the twisted comedy and the wonderful narrator. I do feel though that this is a book that is best consumed slowly. It is a very quick read but I found myself getting tired by some of the shtick. It is a great addition to our library and a great p...
  • Carina Olsen
    Feb 19, 2017
    This book is so gorgeous. And I wanted to love it so badly. Which is why I'm so disappointed to say that I did not. I love fairy tales. And retellings are amazing. And I love middle grade books the most. Which is why I was so sure that I would love this book. As I also adore the author...
  • Mehsi
    Oct 25, 2017
    "Once upon a time, a girl skipped into the forest and became a zombie." I just knew I would love this as soon as I spotted the book on Twitter. I always love it when authors write a retelling of fairy tales. Especially if those retellings are filled with zombies, arsonists, talking ...
  • Catherine
    May 22, 2017
    ? In this very twisted fairy tale collection favorite characters have undergone some creepy changes. Snow White is a vampire, Cinderella and Prince Charring are pyromaniacs, Red Riding Hood is a thug and Goldilocks is a zombie hunter. Linking all ten short chapters is the Stepmother wh...
  • Sarah Hay
    Aug 23, 2017
    Highly amusing darkly twisted fairy tales for middle grade readers. Readers are led through several fairy tales where the villains may be good, the previously thought of 'good' children may possibly be monstrous, and word usage is very important. Each chapter is a new story but parts c...
  • Shelley
    Oct 16, 2018
    Being a social media fan of Kiersten White, when I spotted this book {last year} at my son's school book fair, I had to purchase it. After a heavier topic book, I decided to switch things up and try this. Knowing I wasn't the key audience... Unfortunately, it fell a bit flat fo...
  • Vanessa
    Jan 22, 2019
    Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales is right for someone, but that someone isn?t me. This is the first book on the Lone Star List that I haven?t enjoyed. It?s a ?fairy tales gone wrong? book, but it was neither hilarious nor scary for me. It seemed catered to a younger...
  • Stephanie Bange
    Jul 19, 2017
    White has taken several Grimm Fairy Tales and Mother Goose nursery rhymes and retells them, weaving each together into a longer narrative. Spoiler: The connecting link is the stepmother and Jack. Along the way, the narrator (a character) tells each traditional folktale and adds a twist...
  • Taylor Knight
    May 16, 2017
    I was sent an ARC copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review 3.5 stars This was such a fun read. I really loved the creativity and writing style. The concept was a lot of fun and I think young readers will really enjoy it. The Princess and the...Pea? was pr...
  • Becky B
    Oct 07, 2018
    Rapunzel, Snow White, Jack, Goldilocks, Cinderella...you know their stories, right? Think again. Keirsten White takes the stories and characters you think you know and tie them together in a tale about a boy who can't hold down a job, a slowly spreading zombie problem, a vampire bent o...
  • Theresa Grissom
    Sep 18, 2017
    Loved this hilarious book! Can't wait to share this with the upper elementary students at school. For fans of A Tale Dark and Grimm series. ...
  • Yvonne Olson
    Aug 18, 2017
    I love Kiersten White. I love fairytales. I love when Kiersten White writes fairytales. This book is full of the classic tales, twisted in ways to get kids excited about reading! Plus, there's witty quotes on every page, and I found that great. I only wish that this was geared to ...
  • Cindy Mitchell *Kiss the Book*
    Apr 25, 2018
    White, Kiersten Bean Stalker and other Hilarious Scary Tales, 240 pages. Scholastic, 2017. $7. Language: G (o swears); Mature Content: G; Violence: G. Short chapters containing twisted re-tellings of classic fairytales like: Unfair Hair, which is a re-telling of Rapunzel. It features ...
  • Corinna
    Nov 04, 2018
    Cute book! This was geared towards pre-teen/teen, but it was quirky and fun. Couldn't pass it up for a quick Halloween read. Kiersten White takes multiple fairy tales and children rhymes, turning them on their heads. We end up with zombies and vampires and a giant snake, oh my! Be mind...
  • Mandy
    Sep 15, 2018
    This was such an odd little read. I don't really know quite what to do with it. There were parts that were great and sort of funny, but for the most part I was just blinking rapidly, trying to understand what was happening. The writing, I think, was the biggest issue for me. At some po...
  • Feisty Harriet
    Aug 04, 2017
    Ok, this is such a delightful book for kids, I want to buy it for every 8yo I know! What do you get when you mix giant pet snakes, lock-pickers, vampires, zombies, and pyro's and throw them all into a fairy tale land with a smattering of weird royal families? Well, you get a whole lot ...
  • Tiffany PSquared
    Nov 07, 2018
    I loved this quirky little book of scarytales! Kiersten White really knows how to spin a tale and her slightly spooky spoof of our classic fairy tale characters made for hilarious reading for my daughter and me! ...
  • Ellie
    Nov 15, 2017
    I love Kiersten White, and I can't believe that I forgot to tell her how much I loved this collection when I saw her at Teen Book Con this year!! One of the best parts of her writing is how she's able to move between genres and target age groups seamlessly. This book is a far cry from ...
  • Laura P
    Dec 04, 2017
    I really loved this mashup of fairy tales. Snow White is a vampire, Goldilocks is an awesome zombie hunter (and "zombear" hunter, too), Cinderella is a pyromaniac, and the stepmother (who seems to be everybody's stepmother) has her hands full. The author weaves all these tales together...
  • Rustin Verret
    Mar 20, 2019
    Prepare to be surprised. What if all the elementary fairy tales you thought you knew were different. What if Snow White was undead? What if Rapunzel didn't have long hair, but a very slimy herr? What if Cinderella could make ashes and cinders? That's exactly the kind of surprises this ...
  • Elise (TheBookishActress)
    Feb 11, 2017
    Damn, I want to be Kiersten White's best friend so much. Unfair Hair: 4 stars. This is such a solid, funny intro. Snow White, Blood Red: 4.5 stars. The meta stepmother jokes and the LOVE MOME tattoo all got me laughing. The Princess and the...Pea?: 5 stars. This is legitimately...