The Breakaways

The Breakaways

Quiet, sensitive Faith starts middle school already worrying about how she will fit in. To her surprise, Amanda, a popular eighth grader, convinces her to join the school soccer team, the Bloodhounds. Having never played soccer in her life, Faith ends up on the C team, a ragtag group that?s way better at drama than at teamwork. Although they are awful at soccer, Faith and Quiet, sensitive Faith starts middle school already worrying about how she will fit in. To her surprise, Amanda, a popul...

DownloadRead Online
Title:The Breakaways
Author:Cathy G. Johnson
Rating:
Genres:Sequential Art
ISBN:No Dogs Allowed
  • The Breakaways
  • The Breakaways
  • The Breakaways
Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Breakaways, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Breakaways

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.22
Format Type:Hardcover
Number of Pages:224 pages pages

The Breakaways Reviews

  • Renata
    Apr 08, 2019
    This was a very cute, diverse graphic novel, including a gentle trans coming out story. It reads a bit like an anthology--there are a lot of characters followed, and it doesn't necessarily feel like they all get their due, so I hope this is the start of a series. I think it'll be a goo...
  • Kris
    Jul 15, 2019
    Super cute and diverse middle-grade graphic novel about a bunch of kids who are on a soccer team and are not good at it at all. They are good are being a pretty accepting group of friends, though. Very cute art that will appeal to readers of Raina Telgemeir or Victoria Jamieson. My cri...
  • Katelyn Patterson
    Feb 01, 2019
    A group of misfits thrust on to the girls soccer C team struggle with middle school and figuring out who they are. Eventually they embrace their dislike of soccer and discover that what they have actually found is each other. Diverse cast of girls with a great message of acceptance of ...
  • Ms. Yingling
    Jan 09, 2019
    E ARC from Edelweiss Plus Faith is very shy, but when she starts her new school, the popular Amanda asks her to be on the soccer team. As a fifth grader, she is excited to play with older students, but isn't pleased when she ends up on the "C" team. A lot of the girls are mean, but ...
  • Nori
    Apr 06, 2019
    If a Raina Telgemeier book and a Lumberjanes book got together and had a love child, it would look something like this. I read this in one sitting. It was sweet, but also believable. I guess my one complaint is that I wish it was longer and I had more time to get to know the characters...
  • Erin
    Jul 16, 2019
    Worst book I've ever read. ...
  • Katie Lawrence
    Mar 15, 2019
    What I loved: - Great representation and diversity! - I loved the art style a great deal. Each character was distinct. - I love that this is a sports book about people who are not very good at it and also are not sure if they want to keep playing the sport. As a former soccer playe...
  • Dana Fontaine
    Jun 11, 2019
    Super disappointing. This sugar costed and watered down a lot of issues. There was also lots of issues thrown in that weren?t fully developed or addressed. ...
  • Chelsey
    Apr 30, 2019
    I kept checking to see if my copy had pages ripped out, I was so confused. ...
  • mytaakeonit
    Apr 30, 2019
    Super cute book that I put in my ?sports? section, but it mostly just about how weird middle school is and how important it is to find your people. Soccer simply serves as a meeting point. ...
  • Dakota Morgan
    Apr 25, 2019
    The Breakaways starts off all over the place, but by the end, I found it thoroughly delightful. Faith is the 1A main character here, a newcomer to the Bloodhounds, a C-level middle school soccer team. The other members of the soccer team are, somewhat unexpectedly, the 1B main characte...
  • Liz
    Apr 15, 2019
    I really liked some aspects, but overall it was just kind of all over the place. ...
  • Samma
    Mar 21, 2019
    I gave this three stars, but...it's more like 2 and a half. The art itself is appealing and the story showed a lot of promise, but ultimately when I reached the end I felt kind of disappointed. The good: The art. LGBTQIA visability. Realistic portrayal of middle school. The characters...
  • Chelsea
    Jun 04, 2019
    I just didn?t really connect with this one ...
  • Jenna
    Jul 26, 2019
    The fantasy portion, which is usually my favorite bit, completely went over my head in terms of symbolism / reflecting the real world. It felt inspired by sports manga and attempted to do a twist, but within just one volume with a vague focus on Faith, failed to capture my attention. H...
  • Meghan Kavanaugh
    May 02, 2019
    Really cute teen graphic novel about inclusion, fitting in, and bad soccer. ...
  • destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries]
    Jan 26, 2019
    This was one of the cutest middle grade graphic novels ever. It was so fluffy, and had so many heartwarming moments, and an incredibly diverse cast of characters! It follows this young girl, Faith, who's been convinced to join her school's soccer team by a popular girl she wants to imp...
  • Ashley Tenn
    May 03, 2019
    I think this might be one of my favorite books of all time. ...
  • Mary
    Aug 06, 2019
    The plot could have been tighter in this graphic novel about a middle school soccer team. The Bloodhounds are the worst soccer team in the league mainly because almost none of the players like to play soccer. Short vignettes/episodic chapters introduce readers to the different teammate...
  • Rod Brown
    May 01, 2019
    Too many characters, none of whom really like being on a soccer team together, each get too few pages to have much of a character arc, especially with way too many pages wasted on a completely pointless recurring fantasy sequence. Nice diversity at least. ...
  • Mary Thomas
    Mar 23, 2019
    This one missed the mark for me- I think kids will like it, but for me it lacked a clear plot and the characters were sort of all over the place. I had a hard time following along. Nonetheless, I know kids will read and enjoy it! ...
  • Books on Stereo
    Mar 31, 2019
    Far too many characters with little to no payoff. ...
  • Larakaa
    Mar 09, 2019
    If you like "Lumberjanes" or "Backstagers" then this is for you! ...
  • Allison Wysong
    Apr 20, 2019
    A cute graphic novel with some very sweet representations of all kinds of people. Sometimes life is choosing to do what you really enjoy and I like that in the story. ...
  • Laura
    Jun 02, 2019
    Real cute, endearing and engrossing. Love the art and representation. Love the message. Good stuff. ...
  • Jaime Dear
    Jun 03, 2019
    Great sports slice of life. Vibrant, lovable, and efficiently developed characters. Loved it!!! ...
  • Jennifer Hill
    Jun 18, 2019
    I was really excited about the diversity of this book and enjoyed the small glimpses of diversity, but the character development was VERY spotty. I think there was too much shoved into one book. The characters could have focused on one or two, but it was really too many. I felt like it...
  • Gigi H
    Jun 08, 2019
    I liked the diversity and the fact that this was about a school soccer team that actually wasn't particularly good. A lot of topics/issues get covered, but I also think it may have been a little too much all at once. Faith is shy, artistic and has quite the imagination. However, I ...
  • Jessica Fletcher-Fierro
    Jun 04, 2019
    I liked the diversity in this book, but that's the only good thing I have to say about it. I found it hard to follow, and the ending (spoilers) was a let-down. They literally walked off the field mid-game and quit. What?! I also found Faith's comic within the story to be confusing ...
  • Bethany Hagenbuch
    Apr 27, 2019
    As a fellow soccer player, this book spoke to me. Girls soccer is as drama-filled as it gets. It reminded me of the book ?Tangerine? that is really popular among middle school kids. It touches on cliques and groups of girls that huddle together. I like the line in the summary th...